'What round tower?': the 2014 Ferrycarrig restoration project
Files in This Item:
|Wexford round tower_ Huddie (UCDR).pdf||126.85 kB||Adobe PDF||Download|
|Title:||'What round tower?': the 2014 Ferrycarrig restoration project||Authors:||Huddie, Paul||Permanent link:||http://hdl.handle.net/10197/10212||Date:||2017||Online since:||2019-04-30T10:07:30Z||Abstract:||‘What round tower?’, was the response that the Wexford native and professional stonemason and conservation expert Pat Hickey received from his neighbours in 2014, when he told them that he was restoring the round tower located within the grounds of the Irish National Heritage Park, Ferrycarrig (hereafter the Park). Pat lives only twenty-five minutes’ drive from the tower, but even his neighbours, who live within the hinterland of Wexford town (and thus the Park), know practically nothing, if anything, about that monument. And they should. Not only because it is a replica round tower – 24.5m high and 3.5m diameter – that was constructed between 1857 and 1858 by local tradesmen, but because it was erected by the people of Wexford as a distinctly Irish, enduring and non-sectarian memorial to the hundred-odd men of that county who lost their lives during the Crimean War.||Type of material:||Journal Article||Publisher:||Hogan Print||Journal:||Journal of the Wexford Historical Society||Issue:||26||Start page:||23||End page:||30||Keywords:||Irish National Heritage Park; Ferrycarrig; Round tower; Wexford; Crimean War||Other versions:||http://www.wexfordhistoricalsociety.com/category/journal/||Language:||en||Status of Item:||Not peer reviewed|
|Appears in Collections:||History Research Collection|
Show full item record
This item is available under the Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Ireland. No item may be reproduced for commercial purposes. For other possible restrictions on use please refer to the publisher's URL where this is made available, or to notes contained in the item itself. Other terms may apply.